Sat. Feb 24th, 2024

NEW DELHI: Taking lessons from the recent political drama in Bihar that saw Janata Dal United leader Nitish Kumar breaking ties with the NDA alliance and joining hands with Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD to form a new Mahagathbandhan government in the state, the BJP has now decided to expose how the Bihar Chief Minister betrayed the saffron party.

At the BJP Bihar BJP Core Committee meeting that was conducted at party headquarters in Delhi on Tuesday, Union Home Minister Amit Shah reportedly told the party leaders that Nitish Kumar has been repeatedly lying about facts and accusing the BJP of trying to break the Janata Dal-United. 

The core committee meeting was attended by BJP national president JP Nadda. Bihar BJP state president Sanjay Jaiswal, BL Santosh, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Sahnawaz Hussain, Mangal Pandey, Janak Ram, Nand Kishore Yadav and many other leaders were present at the meeting. 

During the meeting, the BJP discussed a detailed strategy for the expansion of the organisation in the whole of the state. The party has also prepared a strategy to win more than 35 of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in the state in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

In the meeting chaired by Nadda, the Bihar BJP leaders were told to strengthen the party`s base in the whole of Bihar and expose the “deceitful” alliance by going among the public and winning more than 35 seats in Bihar in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

After the meeting, Jaiswal said, “the Mahagathbandhan in Bihar is an alliance of deceiving the people. BJP will fight against it from the street to the state Assembly. The part has set the target of winning 35 seats in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.”

“The meeting of Bihar Core Committee was held today in the presence of President JP Nadda ji and Union Home Minister Amit Shah ji. There has been a very thorough and detailed discussion on all the issues. It is well known that this coalition betrays the people and this is a backdoor alliance which is trying to re-establish Lalu Raj,” he added.

Jaiswal said the BJP will set the record by winning more than 35 seats in Bihar in the 2024 general elections. There are 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar out of which 17 are presently held by the BJP while JD(U) has 16 seats. Further, Lok Janshakti Party has six seats and Congress has one seat. 

Earlier on Tuesday, a total of 31 ministers were inducted into the Bihar cabinet from various parties that are part of the Mahagathbandhan or the Grand Alliance in the state. The new Ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan at Raj Bhavan here.

The RJD got 16 ministerial berths and the Janata Dal (United) 11. Two legislators from the Congress, one from Jitin Ram Manjhi`s Hindustani Awam Morcha and the lone Independent MLA, Sumit Kumar Singh, also took oath as cabinet ministers. From RJD, Deputy chief minister Tejashwi Yadav`s brother Tej Pratap Yadav, Samir Kumar Mahaseth, Chandrashekhar, Kumar Sarvajeet, Lalit Yadav, Surendra Prasad Yadav, Ramanand Yadav, Jitendra Kumar Rai, Anita Devi and Sudhakar Singh and Alok Mehta took the oath. Congress legislators Afaque Alam and Murari Lal Gautam were inducted into the cabinet as ministers, while Hindustani Awam Morcha`s Santosh Suman was also sworn in.

The Bihar cabinet can have up to 36 ministers, including the Chief Minister. Some ministerial berths will be kept vacant for future cabinet expansion, sources said. Nitish Kumar had broken away from the BJP and formed a government with the RJD and other parties earlier this month. The Chief Minister and his deputy – RJD`s Tejashwi Yadav – took oath on August 10.

The Bihar Grand Alliance has a combined strength of 163. Its effective strength climbed to 164 after Independent MLA Sumit Kumar Singh extended its support to Nitish Kumar. The new government is likely to prove a majority in the Bihar assembly on August 24.

The 2020 Assembly polls in Bihar were a tight one with the National Democratic Alliance winning 125 seats, with BJP winning 74 of these, the Janata Dal (United) of Nitish Kumar 43, the Vikassheel Insaan Party 4 and the Hindustan Awaam Party (Secular) 4. This put the NDA just above the requisite 122-majority mark needed to form the government. The RJD and its allies, on the other hand, had won 110 seats. The RJD finished as the single-largest party with 75 seats, while Congress won a mere 19 seats. 

Of the 29 seats the Left parties had contested, they won 16, with the CPI (ML-Liberation) winning 12 of them. Asaduddin Owaisi`s AIMIM had won five seats in the Seemanchal region of the state. Four of its MLAs have switched to the RJD.

(With Agency Inputs)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *