Fri. Feb 23rd, 2024

The Durban franchise in Cricket South Africa T20 league has roped in five players including South African wicketkeeper and batter Quinton de Kock. RPSG, which owns the franchise, named de Kock, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley and Prenelan Subrayan as their first five players. “The players have demonstrated consistent performance over the years and belong to South Africa , West Indies and England,” said the press release.  

Dr Sanjiv Goenka, Chairman of the RPSG Group said , “I welcome all the players to the RPSG Durban family. It’s a new beginning , full of hope and promise. We are confident that the talented players will add to the foundation of the team and will uphold our core philosophy of performance.”

Not to forget, RPSG is the same group that also owns Lucknow Super Giants in the Indian Premier League (LSG). De Kock and Holder are two key foreign recruits of LSG who form core of the team. Mayers too was roped in by LSG at the IPL 2022 mega auction earlier this year. Topley is a great addition to the team. The left-arm pacer troubled Indian batters with his swing and pace and could be a game changer for the Durba’ franchise in the maiden SA T20 League. The fifth player is an uncapped South African Subrayan, who is an all-rounder and will be among the players to watch out for. 

There are 6 teams in CSA’s T20 league including Durban, MI Cape Town, Gqeberha, Johannesburg, Paarl and Pretoria Capitals. All the teams have already started roping in players installment. Earlier, CSK-owned Johannesburg franchise had announced that Moeen Ali and Faf du Plessis will play for their team in the maiden SA T20 League. Du Plessis will lead the side. Both of these players had spent a long time playing together for CSK in the past. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *